November Wrap Up (And Negative NaNo)

Howdy!

It’s been a busy November and to be honest, I’m not sure I quite believe it’s December already… I feel like I really haven’t done a personal post for awhile. I’ve either been absent on post days or helping with blog tours and stuff. So time for a random wrap-up!

I’ve been on clinicals since August, which means no classes to attend and only an occasional paper due. I should technically already be reviewing for my licensure next summer, but when you get home from a work day, it’s really nice to just sit down and read or write or do whatever the heck you want. I’m getting a taste of real life after years of school and I like it. πŸ™‚ I only have one more week of clinicals before Christmas break. I really love the place I’m working right now. We see patients up to twice a day for several weeks and so it’s really awesome to see how much they can improve and then to have them thank you for everything you did for them. ❀ This is why I love PT.

At the beginning of the month, I started a writing mentorship course with Katie Morford. It’s covering the basics of writing, but the assignments have been great so far! Check it out!

As far as writing, I was hoping to get the first draft of my project done this month with it being NaNo and all. But then I get to the big plot point/twist that I basically almost kind of planned this book around and then…everything stopped. My MC quit his job and everyone else was like, nah. I had gotten around 9K written at this point (which I was proud of since I’m kind of a snail of a writer these days). So I took about a week off from writing, trying to decide what to do and I decided that in order to fix everything and get characters talking to me again, I needed to scrap the plot point. Which led to this.

Yeah. 12K words. 6 chapters. Let me just be sad for a while again.

But worth it in the long run, I hope. My hardcore judgmental alpha readers AKA my sisters seem to think it will be better. πŸ˜›

Thankfully I believe in saving everything, so I was able to reuse some big chunks of stuff and have already added around 5K back in, about half of which is new text.

So essentially, NaNo didn’t happen and if I ran numbers (which I won’t because numbers and I don’t really get along) I feel like I would have ended up with a negative word count. πŸ˜›

Thanksgiving was great, especially since I didn’t have to stress about homework and tests and gross school stuff over break for the first time in about 6 years. It was great! I was able to hang out with family and chase my little sixteen month old niece around just about nonstop.

We saw Hacksaw Ridge.

Hacksaw. Ridge. People. Go see it! It’s amazing (and has a killer soundtrack).

I also started watching the TV show Shooter. Also super intense. I haven’t watched the original Mark Wahlberg movie, but hopefully will be soon, because I’m loving this show. Also I’m madly in love with the show Timeless. Watch this show!!!!

I read a few books, which I’d have to go look at Goodreads to tell you what they were since apparently they weren’t that memorable. :O I did however get my hands on a copy ofΒ The Martian. I had listened to most of the audiobook last summer and really enjoyed the movie, so I’m looking forward to rereading (and actually finishing) the book.

I’m not going to talk about football or anything, since the Aggies didn’t have a great November….

Also, I discounted theΒ Adela’s Curse ebook for the Black Friday/Cyber Monday sale hosted by Indie Christian Authors. It’s still discounted because I haven’t changed it yet, so if you want to snag a copy, I’ll leave it at a discount until Sunday evening.Β 

That was my November! How was yours? Did you have a good Thanksgiving? Did you win NaNo? What books have you read? Tell me about your life.

13 thoughts on “November Wrap Up (And Negative NaNo)

  1. I failed at NaNo too! But don’t worry, you could do NaNo every day of the year if you wanted! I know how frustrating it is to have MCs change their minds, but keep pushing. Sometimes I just skip over that part and write where I was going anyway. I let the “connection” come to me later, when my mind isn’t trying to force it. Good luck in your clinicals and just keep writing! You can do it! πŸ™‚ Oh, and I agree, the Aggies really let me down this season….. >.<

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s good to hear how clinicals have been going for you! It sounds like a very rewarding job, and better than school homework stuff.
    I’m glad you were able to repurpose some of your chapters instead of tossing them completely. It’s painful when you work so hard on a chapter only to have to ditch it, so yay for repurposing!
    I completely forgot about the christian book Black Friday! I was going to add my poem book this year, haha. *snaps fingers*

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I failed at NaNo too. Just didn’t have the time this year to get there. But, I wrote more than I would have otherwise, so I’m happy. (Now, I wasn’t then.) I’ve just read The Martian. It was an interesting book. I really liked it. Unique, I think I would call it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a comment! I try and reply to all of them. Just keep it clean and relevant to the post. Stay shiny!

